Hallelujah (by Leonard Cohen)

I heard there was a secret chord that David played and it pleased the lord

but you don’t really care for music do you?

Well it goes like this the forth the fifth the minor fall and the major lift

the baffled king composing Hallelujah!

Well your faith was strong but you needed proof

you saw her bathing on the roof

her beauty in the moonlight overthrew you

she tied you to her kitchen chair she broke your throne and she cut your hair

and from your lips she drew the Hallelujah!

You said I took the Name in vain

I didn’t even know the name

But if I did, well, really, what’s it to you?

There’s a blaze of light in every word

it doesn’t matter what you heard

the holy or the broken Hallelujah!

I did my best it wasn’t much

I couldn’t feel so I learned to touch

I’ve told the truth, I didn’t come to fool you

And even though it all went wrong

I’ll stand before the Lord of Song

with nothing on my lips but Hallelujah!

Baby, I’ve been here before

I know this room, I’ve walked this floor

I used to live alone before I knew you

I’ve seen your flag on the marble arch

but love is not a victory march

it’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelujah!

There was a time when you let me know

what’s really going on below

but now you never show that to me do you?

I remember when I moved in you

and the holy dove was moving too

and every breath we drew was Hallelujah!

Now maybe there’s a God above

but all I ever learned from love was how to shoot somebody who outdrew you

And it’s not a cry that you hear at night

it’s not somebody who’s seen the light

it’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelujah!

Hallelujah Hallelujah Hallelujah

About binaryLady

Front-End Wiz and Full stack developer

2 comments

  1. Cookie

    I used to get pissed and stoned listening to Cohen – sitting nights on the Balcony looking at the South Tehran Night Sky; -throwing small coins at Shira’s windows upstairs until she woke up – put her head over her own balcony parapet and asked me what I wanted. The rest has been lost in the tales of wise men, kings and charlatans since the world began. We all fell into the same trap – the one which no man ever got out of and women benefiited only by going hungry having to bring up their children.

    Men created religions to control men – not taking into any account whatsoever that they had already lost it all in the pools of a womans eyes – from where men and their sons since time began never did emerge with any vestige of sanity.
    It’s the way we are – or rather what we have become – there is no escape – no matter how hard we try or however much we endeavour to engineer our fundamental socially acceptable structures.

    Khalil Gibran, our eminent Lebanese philosopher, once moted: “All Religions are fingers off the same hand” – and in my view; the men who created them all had the same target on their minds: ” to sink into the pools of a Womans Eyes – to get laid” – preferably by the most Beautiful woman in this world – and Thus: “The quest goes on eternally”……
    Do not as a woman ever look for honour, responsibility or God forbid; ‘Charity in the male of the specie – he’s too base – avaricious and sexually greedy to expouse any of those refined feelings. He’s just a moronic, hardwired to replicate, automaton way beyond having any feellings but the most base… If ever in any doubt; The Passion and Beowulf should be compulsory viewing…..

    • Thanks, I needed that reminder right about now! To search for something never given is a pointless one indeed. I do so love Kahlil Gibran, “Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping, for only the hand of Life can contain your hearts. And stand together yet not too near together: For the pillars of the temple stand apart, and the oak and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.” We women know of the magic in our eyes and should not as you say rely on that magic to maintain anything but keep it as a prize never completely forsaken. -S.

Leave a Reply

